MARINA – Love + Fear – First Impressions

Love + Fear, MARINA’s highly anticipated fourth album, is finally here! MARINA dazzles with a stunning concept album that manages to balance art and honesty. The album is technically a double album divided into two parts, Love and Fear, and Love was actually released separately back on 4 April, but on Friday 26 April both parts were released together. Each part of the album has 8 tracks, and each part has a runtime of around 28 minutes – presumably a deliberate demonstration of the equal roles that both Love and Fear play within our lives. 

I was really excited about Love + Fear back from when I first heard “Handmade Heaven,” and with every subsequent release I’ve fallen more deeply for this album. “Handmade Heaven” taps into a wistfulness for the natural world in an increasingly digital era. The music video’s woodland landscapes and MARINA’s bright red hood also evoke a different kind of escapism: into fairytales and lands of wonder.



On the album’s announcement, MARINA stated that its name and concept were inspired by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’ theory that humans only experience two emotions:

“There are only two emotions: love and fear. All positive emotions come from love and all negative emotions from fear. From love flows happiness, contentment, peace and joy. From fear comes anger, hate, anxiety and guilt. It’s true that there are only two primary emotions: love and fear, but it is more accurate to say that there is only love or fear for we cannot feel these two emotions together at exactly the same time. They are opposites. If we are in fear, we are not in a place of love. When we are in love, then we are not in a place of fear.”




Love + Fear is the first album that MARINA (aka Marina Diamandis) has released under just her name, having abandoned her “and the Diamonds” moniker in favour of a more personal, less artificial image. In an interview with Dazed, Diamandis said “It took me well over a year to figure out that a lot of my identity was tied up in who I was as an artist, and there wasn’t much left of who I was.” Now, Diamandis is presenting more of who she is in her work, and Love + Fear definitely features a more vulnerable writing style, complemented by her expressive vocals. 



I also purchased Love + Fear on vinyl and am really excited to spin it! I’m working on a video at the moment sharing my MARINA vinyl record collection and talking about my thoughts on each of her eras so far – I’ll be uploading it to my YouTube channel soon so keep an eye out! 



My friend Sangeeta and I hosted an online listening party for Love + Fear on Friday where we talked through the album track-by-track and discussed our thoughts and first impressions.

You can watch our full listening party livestream here – all you need is your own copy of Love + Fear to listen along with us!  


Listen along with us:


We’d love to do more of these listening parties, so let us know if there are any upcoming albums that you’d like us to feature!

MARINA’s new album Love + Fear is out now at all good record shops XD




  1. Handmade Heaven
  2. Superstar
  3. Orange Trees
  4. Baby (feat. Clean Bandit & Luis Fonsi)
  5. Enjoy Your Life
  6. True
  7. To Be Human
  8. End Of The Earth



  1. Believe In Love
  2. Life Is Strange
  3. You
  4. Karma
  5. Emotional Machine
  6. Too Afraid
  7. No More Suckers
  8. Soft To Be Strong

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s